>…according to Entertainment Weekly.

List #1 by Owen Gleiberman

10. Adventureland
9. The Hurt Locker
8. The Girlfriend Experience
7. Fantastic Mr. Fox
6. (500) Days of Summer
5. Food, Inc.
4. I Love You, Man
3. Precious
2. Inglorious Basterds
1. Up in the Air
List #2 by Lisa Schwarzbaum
10. Everlasting Moments
9. District 9
8. Big Fan
7. A Serious Man
6. Fantastic Mr. Fox
5. Where the Wild Things Are
4. Up in the Air
3. Coraline
2. Up
1. The Hurt Locker
And here’s my Top 5 movies for this year as of right now (keeping in mind that I currently want to see Avatar and The Road, if it ever comes out to wide release):
Honorable Mentions: Up, Law Abiding Citizen, and G.I. Joe
Up Law Abiding Citizen G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra
The Proposal
It’s surprising, you may think, that I put this movie on my list, considering that I probably would not have watched it, if my lovely wife hadn’t picked it out. However, I found it to be pretty funny. Reynolds and Bullock work out very well together. Betty White is pretty funny as well, and as somebody who hates Golden Girls with a passion that burns with the fire of a thousand suns, that’s saying a lot.
Star Trek
What is so great about this movie is that you don’t have to be a Trekkie to love it. It was certainly one of the most anticipated movies of the year, and unlike another sci-fi, much-anticipated blockbuster (*cough* Transformers *cough**cough*), it didn’t disappoint. It’s a good story filled with some great action.
The Men Who Stare at Goats
I loved this movie. It was the only movie that I saw in the theaters twice this year, and I would probably go see it again. It is certainly a screwball comedy of sorts. The interesting thing is that I can’t pick out a single scene that encapsulates the entire movie for me. I found myself laughing at the random hilarity all throughout the movie. It’s one that I could watch over and over again.
Terminator Salvation
It may seem strange to see this one listed as my #2 movie for the year, but the more that I thought about it, the more I really enjoyed this movie. It is one of two that really had me on the edge of my seat throughout most of the movie. It is intense, and I loved it. Ironic considering I don’t even really like the original Terminator, but I have liked all of the sequels.
District 9
I didn’t really know what to expect when I went to see this movie. I was making it a double-feature Sunday because G.I. Joe was playing right after it. I had seen a couple of the previews, and thought it looked interesting, but I didn’t know what to expect. What I got was amazing. It is very violent and there is a lot of cussing, but I really feel like this was the best movie that I’ve seen all year long.
