I came across a list recently of 101 blog ideas for pastors “and other church geeks.”  I have so many things going on that often I don’t think about blogging on any one particular subject, and I find myself sitting down to write, but not really knowing what I want to say.  So, I decided that every once in a while, I would turn to this list for an idea on something to write.  That’s what I’m doing today.  So, the #1 thing on the list: write a post that explains why you blog.

The first reason why I blog is very simple: I like to write. I find that writing is a way for me to communicate what’s going on in my world to friends and family who are interested.  I have no visions of becoming a world-famous blogger.  I don’t expect to be called someday to be a regular contributor to the Washington Post because of my blogging prowess.  I just like to write.  Of course, I write sermons every week, and I love doing it, but it’s not enough.  I want to write regularly and consistently.

Second: Blogging provides a window into my life. What does it means to be a twenty-something …. errr…. thirty-something pastor in this day and age?  It means something different for every person.  What you are seeing in this blog is what it means for me.  What are the things that interest me?  What are the things that I deem worthy of my time?  I write about the things that are important to me.  You want to know who I am?  Read the blog.

Third: I have a lot of things rattling around in my head, and blogging is a way for me to think through some things. As you can tell by looking at the categories, I have a wide and varied interests.  Things I’ve talked about: the struggles that my wife and I have had with miscarriage (three of them to date); my love of baseball and especially the St. Louis Cardinals; books that I have read; video games; fantasy sports; movies; sermons; and a whole lot of other things.  With all of this going on, I have to have an outlet, and blogging provides it.

Finally: I hope I can be an inspiration to others who may stumble across my writing. Truth be told, I’m still considered “young clergy” and maybe another young clergy person will come along and realize that it’s all right to be a real person in ministry.  I don’t have everything figured out, even when I act like I do.  I watch movies that other people watch.  I listen to music that other people listen to, and the people that just see me dressed up on Sunday morning don’t realize that there are things going on in my life that I don’t talk about from the pulpit.  These are things that shape and form, not only me, but the ministry to which God has called me.

