We are a full week into the Lenten season at this point.  For those who aren’t familiar with the concept, Lent is the 40 days (not counting Sundays) prior to Easter Sunday.  It is a time of reflection and repentance where we are to prepare ourselves for the good news of the gospel: that Jesus Christ rose from the grave!

One of the most popular things that people do during Lent is “give up” something.  Some people make it their annual ritual to abstain from chocolate or soda during this time.  They are usually the ones who are cranky and on edge every spring.  Some of you probably just had a “light bulb” moment that describes why your buddy is such a pain in the rear right about now.

In the spirit of the Lenten season, I thought I’d share some of my blog commitments as I try to get back into blogging on a regular basis.

First, I will be posting three times each week. My plan so far, in case you haven’t noticed, is to post on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  If something comes up, I may throw in a bonus post from time to time, but for the most part, I’m going to be posting three times a week.  I’m trying to write Monday through Friday on BasesLoadedBalk during the baseball season, so maintaining two blogs at five posts a week is going to be a little difficult.  I’m looking to put more quality thought into this blog.  BLB is all about having fun; it can afford some less than stellar posts from time to time…. of course, that’s probably what you’re going to get here occasionally as well.

Second, I’m not going to make things up. Everything that I write about will be based on the reality that is my life – however exciting or boring that may be.  It may be something fluffy like a movie review, or it may be something heavier like theological reflection.  With my digital recorder, I’m going to be more diligent about posting a link to my sermons on Monday mornings so you can listen if you’d like.  Sidebar – if you’d like to subscribe to my sermons on iTunes, you can do that through the Sermon Player that is available on the website where you listen to it.

Third, I’ll try not to get too complicated. I’m not (often) going to go into deep theological waters.  I may from time to time if it really is vital to what I’m going to share.  But I will make a sub-commitment on this point: I will try to make it as easy to understand as possible.

Finally, not everything is going to be ministry related. As you probably already know, I’m going to write on just about anything that comes to mind.  And, let me tell you, sometimes, I have some very odd things that enter into my mind.  Who knows where they might lead!

Hopefully you enjoy my little corner of the blogosphere.  I look forward to being a part of this community on a regular basis.  Feel free to comment and interact there.

