My body hates me.  That’s the only logical conclusion.  I simply cannot do the running.  I’m not giving up on the exercising, but, in an attempt to keep my heels from killing me, I simply have to stop running.  I haven’t seen the doctor (though Katie thinks I should), but I’m pretty sure that it’s plantar fasciitis.  When I read the description, it perfectly describes what is going on.  I’m not a fan of surgery, so I don’t really want to see the doctor because I have a feeling that would be the recommendation.  Apparently, there are orthotics that might help, and I might look into that in the future.  However, I think the biggest thing that I can do to help the situation is simply lose some weight.  It may not completely stop it, but it will definitely help.

Last week, Katie and I joined a fitness center in Crawfordsville.  It’s not too far away, and the monthly price was doable.  It includes a lot of classes, including spinning, water aerobics, zumba, step and more that I can’t think of right now.  There is no extra charge for the classes.  I might try out the elliptical machines, but I’ll definitely be spending a lot of time on the bikes and in the weight room.  Katie and I are meeting with a personal trainer this morning who is going to assess our situations, give us some recommendations and show us how to use the equipment.

The second major change is going to have to be our diet.  I’m not a fan of dieting.  I am a fan of eating better and being intentional about what I eat.  I still am not ready to give up soda entirely, but I am going to cut back.

So, there you have it.  I’m a failure.  I’m just kidding.  Running is a failure.  Time to cut my losses, and start in a new direction.

