It’s finally done.  Last week, I finally managed to get both of our gardens set up.  We do this every year.  We like to plant a garden, but then, about halfway through the summer we have too many other things on our plate, and we fail to take good care of it.  Well… not this year!

I can already tell that one of the bigger challenges I’m going to have this year is rabbits.  I noticed yesterday that there is some raised ground going into one of the gardens, and I can’t seem to find the cucumber vine that I planted.  Needless to say, I’m not too pleased about that right now.

We tried starting our garden indoors from seeds this year.  I don’t think that worked out all that well.  The plants that did make it from the seed to the garden don’t look all that good right now.  I’m going to give it a week or two to be sure though.

In the back garden, we have 6 tomato plants (two roma, two big beef and two cherry), and three different types of peppers (green bell, jalapeno and sweet banana).  I also made a little area where I planted green onions and radishes from the seed.  Again, we’ll see how that goes.

I enjoy planting a garden.  I really do like the work that goes into getting it ready.  I’m not as big of a fan of maintaining it though, so that’s something I’ll have to work on this summer.  But, if all goes well, we’ll be saving some money on groceries this summer, and that’s what it is all about… that and home grown veggies always seem to taste a whole lot better.

