I thought I’d go a little light-hearted for today’s post… not that I’m so deep the rest of the time, and share with you the Top 10 movies that I have on my DVD shelf when it comes to making me laugh.  There may be some spoilers scattered around here, but, if you haven’t seen these movies yet, you should probably smack yourself anyway.

10. Enchanted.  That’s right.  This movie cracks me up.  Amy Adams as Giselle who is transported from her fairy tale world to New York City, but maintains the same attitude of wonder and amazement throughout the movie, including the spontaneous musical number during a stroll through the park.  Great stuff.

Robert: [Giselle and the other people at Central Park all start singing] He knows the song too? I’ve never heard this song before! What the hell is it? 

9. So I Married an Axe Murderer.  Classic Mike Myers in this one.  He plays Charlie, the neurotic guy who always finds the smallest reason to dump somebody (as well as Charlie’s Scottish father).  He thinks that he has found somebody great this time when he meets Harriet, only to discover that it’s possible that she is a black widow who kills on the night of her wedding.  He breaks the whole things off, but decides that he’s just being paranoid, and they get married… and the truth is revealed.

 Stuart Mackenzie: Well, it’s a well known fact, Sonny Jim, that there’s a secret society of the five wealthiest people in the world, known as The Pentavirate, who run everything in the world, including the newspapers, and meet tri-annually at a secret country mansion in Colorado, known as The Meadows.
Tony Giardino: So who’s in this Pentavirate?
Stuart Mackenzie: The Queen, The Vatican, The Gettys, The Rothschilds, *and* Colonel Sanders before he went tits up. Oh, I hated the Colonel with is wee *beady* eyes, and that smug look on his face. “Oh, you’re gonna buy my chicken! Ohhhhh!”
Charlie Mackenzie: Dad, how can you hate “The Colonel”?
Stuart Mackenzie: Because he puts an addictive chemical in his chicken that makes ya crave it fortnightly, smartass!

8. Dodgeball.  The classic underdog story about the owner of a small gym (Vince Vaughn) who enters a dodgeball tournament in order to win the money to keep his gym.  He teams up with some regulars from his gym, who turn out to be a ragtag group of misfits.  The villain (White Goodman) is brilliantly played by Ben Stiller, who is so over the top and ridiculous that you can’t help but laugh at the very sight of him.

White Goodman: At Globo Gym we understand that “ugliness” and “fatness” are genetic disorders, much like baldness or necrophilia, and it’s only your fault if you don’t hate yourself enough to do something about it.

7. Nacho Libre.  Here’s a little gem of a movie that cracks me up because Jack Black is a man amongst boys when it comes to physical comedy.  There are a lot of great lines in this one too.  He plays a monk with cooking duties who decides to start wrestling to raise money for the orphans so they can eat better.  It’s a touching story.

Nacho: Chancho. When you are a man, sometimes you wear stretchy pants in your room. It’s for fun.

6. The Other Guys.  I got to see this one in the theater one night while Katie was away.  I thought it was pretty funny at the time.  Then I got the DVD, and watched it again… and it was even funnier the second time.  You may notice a theme in the next three movies – they all have Will Ferrell in them.  Ferrell and Wahlberg play Allen and Terry, a mismatched duo on the police force who get thrust into the limelight.

[Hoitz and Gamble barely survive an explosion]
Allen Gamble: I can’t hear! I can’t hear! There’s blood blisters on my hands! Oh, my God! How do you walk away in a movie without flinching when it explodes behind them? There’s no way! I call bullshit on that! When they flew the Millennium Falcon outside of the Death Star, and it was followed by the explosion, that was bullshit!
Terry Hoitz: Don’t you dare badmouth Star Wars! That was all accurate! 

5. Elf.  A Christmas classic.  This is one of two movies that Katie and I watched every year as we decorate the house for Christmas.  The other one: Christmas Vacation.  Only the best in our house.  Will Ferrell plays Buddy the Elf, who finally discovers that he’s not really an elf and leaves the North Pole to find his father… who is on… the NAUGHTY LIST!!!!!

[Buddy sees the mail room for the first time]
Buddy: It’s just like Santa’s workshop! Except it smells like mushrooms… and everyone looks like they wanna hurt me…

4. Stranger Than Fiction.  Ferrell is again on the list, but with a totally different type of movie this time.  Instead of his usual antics, this time he plays Harold Crick, an IRS agent whose life is sterile and boring, until he hears a voice that is narrating his life.  What follows is we get to see Harold Crick truly begin to come alive.

Ana Pascal: Listen, I’m a big supporter of fixing potholes and erecting swing sets and building shelters. I am *more* than happy to pay those taxes. I’m just not such a big fan of the percentage that the government uses for national defense, corporate bailouts, and campaign discretionary funds. So, I didn’t pay those taxes. I think I sent a letter to that effect with my return.
Harold Crick: Would it be the letter that beings “Dear Imperialist Swine”?

3. Office Space.  This is a comedy cult classic about life in a cubicle.  Peter gets fed up with his boring job at Initech, and starts to do whatever he wants at work, and it gets him promoted.  Things are great until he finds out that his friends are on the chopping block, and then he comes up with a scheme that will help them all get rich.  You can imagine how that works out.  Oh, and Stephen Root as Milton – classic.

Milton Waddams: [talking on the phone] And I said, I don’t care if they lay me off either, because I told, I told Bill that if they move my desk one more time, then, then I’m, I’m quitting, I’m going to quit. And, and I told Don too, because they’ve moved my desk four times already this year, and I used to be over by the window, and I could see the squirrels, and they were married, but then, they switched from the Swingline to the Boston stapler, but I kept my Swingline stapler because it didn’t bind up as much, and I kept the staples for the Swingline stapler and it’s not okay because if they take my stapler then I’ll set the building on fire…

2. The Men Who Stare at Goats.  Strangely enough, my two favorite movies are movies that haven’t gotten a whole lot of their due.  The Men Who Stare at Goats is one of the few movies that I have seen more than once in the theater, and I have watched it at least five times since I bought the DVD.  It’s about Bob, a reporter in Iraq, who stumbles upon Lyn Cassidy, the greatest PsyOps soldier of the New Earth army.  What ensues is hilarity and insanity.

Lyn Cassady: [driving up behind a running prisoner yelling out the window] It’s ok we’re Americans, we’re here to help you!
Bob Wilton: [Truck shakes and rattles a little bit] What happened?
Lyn Cassady: I think I just ran him over. Oh crap.

1. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  Based off the book by Douglas Adams, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy has to be one of the zaniest movies I have ever seen.  There isn’t a single scene that doesn’t make me laugh out loud, and I’m not talking “lol, giggle, giggle” either.  There are times when I’m laughing so hard my stomach muscles hurt.  This is a story about Arthur Dent, who is one of a few earthlings left after the planet is destroyed in order to make way for an intergalactic highway, and it is hilarious.  Sam Rockwell steals the show as Zaphod Beeblebrox, the president of the galaxy.

Zaphod: If there’s anything around here more important than my ego, I want it caught and shot now!

