Katie had two days worth of meetings in Indy this week, which means I had two days entirely by myself – which can be really, really boring.  Since it’s been a busy couple of weeks, and since I had a long meeting scheduled in the evening, I took Tuesday afternoon off to catch a couple of movies.  The first one was Cowboys & Aliens, starring Daniel Craig, Harrison Ford and Thirteen… errr, Olivia Wilde.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Plot Summary

A man wakes up in the middle of the desert with no recollection of who he is.  On his left arm is a strange device that won’t come off.  He finds his way to the nearest town, and starts to learn a little more about who he is – a wanted criminal.  As a showdown is about to take place with the big man in town, strange lights appear on the horizon, and alien spaceships start kidnapping people.  Everyone puts aside their differences to track down what happened to the people and discover something that goes far beyond anything they could have ever imagined.

Review

I have to admit, this is the movie that I was most interested in seeing at the beginning of the summer.  Director John Favreau (Iron Man) always seems to do fun movies and the concept was very interesting.  It’s a western with aliens… or is it a sci-fi movie set in the Old West… either way, it’s a lot of fun.  One thing that did kind of bother me was the fact that there is a twist that you expect as the movie unfolds because of the trailer.  I won’t give it away, but you won’t be terribly surprised by it when it happens.

Recommendation

This is just a fun summer blockbuster, which is exactly what it was supposed to be.  There actually is a little bit of commentary on religion in the first third of the movie because there is a country preacher that takes part in the posse.  I’d have to watch it again with a pad and paper to go into much about it.  There’s a lot of action (which you know is one of my requirements), and the storyline isn’t terrible (which is another of my requirements – I set a low bar…).  It’s worth seeing.  You may want to catch the matinee or wait for it to come to the cheap theater, but it’s one I’ll watch from time to time in the future.

Best Part

There wasn’t really any single part of the movie that jumped out at me as I was watching it that I could label as the “Best Part”.  I will say, though, that after seeing this and watching the newest James Bond movies, Daniel Craig is pretty awesome.  So that’s something…

