Sometimes, in ministry, you just have one of those weeks.  This was one of those weeks.

I found out on Monday morning that a friend and husband of a person in my covenant group had unexpectedly passed away (not two different people, he’s the same guy).  He was a great guy and a pastor in the conference.  He was only 46, and had just celebrated his birthday.  It was a major blow to the many people that got the chance to meet him through the Residents in Ministry program in the Indiana Conference.

On Tuesday, I was asked to do a funeral for a 1 year old little girl who had also unexpectedly passed away.  The final word on cause of death was SIDS… in other words, they really have no idea what happened.  That service was on Thursday.  I had never performed a service for an infant.  It was definitely an experience that I would rather not repeat.  The service went fine.  I seriously doubt anybody heard the message, but that’s all right, I wouldn’t have heard it either.

In the midst of all this, and on a much less consequential level, I realized that I haven’t been updating my blog at all this week.  Ever since I made the commitment to blog 3x’s a week, I had not missed, but this week was just an exception.  Next week, Katie and I will be going on vacation, and I haven’t decided if I’m going to have a couple of posts ready to go or if I’m just going to take the week off.  We’ll see how that pans out.

All in all, this has been a tough week, but sometimes that’s what life is like in ministry… actually, sometimes, that’s just what life is like in general.

