In my league, the fantasy football season wrapped up on Sunday.  I was in Week 2 of the Championship Game.  Going into the week, I had a huge lead from Week 1, but that lead was erased quickly when the 49ers decided to pull Frank Gore after only 9 yards rushing (which means 0 points), and Matt Stafford went off for 48 points (we don’t use standard scoring in our league; QB’s get 6 points for TD’s, not 4).  When I checked during the 4 p.m. games, I was actually losing by about 12 points or so.

However, Ray Rice went nuts on the Bengals defense, ending up with 31 points, and the Falcons defense dropped from 24 points to 15, and Fitzgerald and Bowe ended up with decent games as well (14 & 9 respectively).  In the end, I was holding on to a 33 point lead with my opponent having Nicks going in the late game.  I knew it was possible that he could go off, so I was checking in from time to time.  Nicks ended with 13 points, and I ended up with a 20 point win to take the championship.

I’ve enjoyed this season of fantasy football.  I took an early gamble and picked up Cam Newton, which paid back in spades.  Of course, I am slightly ashamed to mention that I decided not to keep Drew Brees in the offseason, and he ended up having a monster year (10 weeks with 25+ points, including the last 6 straight).  But all in all I had a great team: Ray Rice, Frank Gore, Larry Fitzgerald, Dwayne Bowe, and Jermichael Finley were my constant players, alongside Newton after Week 3.

I know it may seem silly, but I enjoy fantasy football because it’s a good way to keep in touch with the NFL, especially when “your” teams are having terrible seasons, which ended up happening for both the Bears and the Colts this year.  Having to only think about it once a week certainly helps as well.  I tend to lose interest in fantasy baseball because of the daily need to set lineups.

Anyhoo!  This was the 3rd year of the 3 season keeper league that I started with my friends.  We’ll see if the league meets up again next season.  If we do, we all start with a clean slate, so it will be interesting to see how things go.

