A couple years ago, I challenged the members of my congregation to read through the Bible in a year.  At that point in my life, I had never done it before, and I thought a good way to work through it would be to offer it up for everybody so I wouldn’t do it alone.  I did fairly well that year until about October, when I got way behind.  I think I ended up reading just about the entire New Testament in the month of December just to catch up.

Last year, I wanted to do it again, only this time I decided to use the Bible App on my phone.  It is put out by the folks at YouVersion.com, and one of the great features is that you can sign up for a number of different plans.  Reading straight through was difficult the year before, so I ended up doing an Old Testament plan and a New Testament plan.  They helped to mix up the readings enough so that I was reading different parts of Scripture every day.  In the OT plan, I also ended up reading through Psalms two times, instead of just once.  I never had to read more than four chapters in a day, which made it much more manageable.  Additionally, having it on my iPhone made it super easy to do my reading every day.  In fact, the only day that I missed was Wednesday, December 28th.  I quickly made that up on the 29th, and then finished out the year on the 30th.  It was so easy that just about every day, I did my reading right after I woke up, and before I even got out of bed.

This year, I decided that I wanted to do something a little different.  I want to push myself just a little.  So, I’m going to be reading through the Bible again… twice.  It may sound a little excessive; however, as a person who is in charge of the spiritual lives of other people, who is given responsibility to grow a church and make disciples of Jesus Christ, is taking 30-45 minutes in the morning to read through Scripture really all that excessive?  I don’t think so.  In fact, it’s probably not enough.  The funny thing is, as daunting as it sounds, it is less reading than going through the newspaper on a daily basis, and there are people who have done that for years, but don’t think that they have the time to read the Bible.  As I was putting together my reading plan, I realize that I only really need to read about 7 pages out of my Bible every day.  Now, depending on your Bible, that may be different, but you get the point.

The biggest hurdle that I’m going to have to overcome is that the Bible App doesn’t have any six month plans, so I’m going to have to get out of bed to do my reading.  It’s a small sacrifice, and it is totally worth it.

So, what about you?  Are you being shaped and challenged by spending time in the Word?  I certainly hope so.  Who knows, maybe next year, we’ll talk about reading through the Bible four times.

