On vacation while Katie is at a conference in Richmond, VA.  I have some things that I’m working on while I’m here, but took the opportunity to get out and watch a movie.  Not a lot that is really worth going out for right now, but the summer blockbuster season is closing in fast, and soon, there will be too many that I want to see all at once.  Today’s: Wrath of the Titans.

Plot Summary

Wrath of the Titans picks up the story ten years after the conclusion of Clash of the Titans, which came out a couple years ago.  Perseus’ wife has passed away, so he and his son are trying to live a quiet life in a fishing village on the coast.  Zeus pays Perseus a visit and tells him of how he needs Perseus’ help to contain the Titan Kronos, who may be freed from his prison in the Underworld.

Review

Not long after I watched this movie, I tweeted: “The best word to describe it is: ‘Meh.'”  And that about sums it up.  It is a perfectly average movie.  I didn’t come out of the theater mad that I had seen it, but I wasn’t overwhelmed by it’s magnificence either.  It was basically the perfect definition of ‘average’.  The plot was almost identical to its predecessor Clash of the Titans – major problem, big quest, lots of monsters need to be fought, good guy wins.  There was nothing original or compelling about the plot.  I didn’t get the sense that I should be emotionally invested in any of the characters or their outcomes.  The CGI work was pretty good, I’ll say that.  But, in a movie like this, it had better be good because there’s nothing else redeemable about it.

Recommendation

This is tricky.  If you liked the original Clash of the Titans, then you’ll like this one.  I thought it was okay, but forgettable.  If you have no interest whatsoever in special effects and fight scenes, then this movie isn’t for you because that’s what it hangs its hat on – that, and nothing else.  Also, don’t waste your money watching it in 3D.  There’s no reason for it.

Best Part

Bill Nighy plays Hephaestus and is pretty entertaining for the 10-15 minutes that he has on the screen.  There is also a good subplot line of forgiveness and redemption, but I don’t want to say too much about that.

