I just took a look at the last time I posted.  It was at the end of May.  A lot has happened since then.

June was primarily spent backing boxes, saying goodbyes and moving away from The ‘Burg, our home for the last 3.5 years.  We had a great time in Veedersburg, learned a lot about who we are as a couple, who I am as a pastor.  We had the highest of highs, and the lowest of lows during our time there.  Professional triumph and personal tragedy.  The only thing that made it “easy” to leave (note: that doesn’t mean we were running out of there without looking back) was the fact that we were coming home.  Our entire immediate family is within about 10-15 miles of our house now.  That means a lot.  I’m seeing friends that I haven’t seen in nearly 13 years.  I’m able to pop in on my mom and dad just because I literally am in the neighborhood.

We’ve transitioned very well into our new appointment at Smith Valley UMC in Greenwood.  We already feel at home.  We are getting to know people, and having a lot of fun.  Things are moving and shaking around here, and it’s very exciting.

One of the things that we recently did at the church was a poetry class.  Now, I’ve never been a big fan of poetry, but I thought it would be a good way to get to know some people in the church, and I decided to go for it.  Nothing like stretching yourself right away!  It was a lot of fun, and I ended up writing a few pieces of poetry myself.  This past Tuesday night, we had a poetry reading, and I’m going to share with you (in a separate post) the poem that I wrote for that reading.

No guarantees, but I’m going to try to get back into the blogging rhythm.  I don’t know exactly how often I will be blogging, but hopefully it’ll be more than once every two months, as has been the case.

