At one point in the iconic Star Wars trilogy (well, I guess there’s six now, but I’m talking about the originals here) after chopping off Luke’s hand and giving him some serious daddy issues that he didn’t know were there before, Vader says to Luke, “Search your feelings, you know it to be true.”  Luke takes just a moment to think about things, and then decides that he’s better off falling into the void than repairing that relationship at this time.  Oh… spoiler alert…

Have you ever had to face that kind of decision?  Face an unpleasant truth or fall off into the void?  Well, hopefully, it’s not as dramatic, or traumatic, for you as it was for the young Skywalker, but hopefully you do take the time to search yourself.  That’s what the psalmist does in today’s reading.

How can I know all the sins lurking in my heart?  Cleanse me from these hidden faults.  Keep your servants from deliberate sins!  Don’t let them control me.  Then I will be free of guilt and innocent of great sin.  May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer (Psalm 19:12-14).

It’s good for us to examine our hearts from time to time.  I’m not saying that we need to do it every day and beat ourselves up over our faults, but we need to be aware of our sin.  And then we need to be aware of the incredible grace of God that sets us free from it.

