Today’s reading has quite a bit that’s worth another look:
– that God chose the weak in 1 Corinthians…
– Joshua meets the commander of the Lord’s army, who is neither friend nor foe…

Both warrant some consideration down the road, but I want to look at what Jesus says to some fishermen instead.

We know the story: “follow me and I will make you fishers of men.” Now, I believe this is an allusion to a place in Jeremiah where God says he will send out hunters and fishers to gather up his people, but that’s not what I want to focus on.

What I want to focus on is this: Jesus meets these guys at their office and gives them a spiritual purpose. He connects with who they are and what they are doing.

I think a lot of people think that to be in ministry you have to be a pastor. It’s simply not true. You can minister to people right where you are. God can give you purpose no matter what your job may be. So get out there and live out your call.

