Something happens when we confess Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior.  We give up all claim to ourselves.  It sounds strange to put it like that, but it’s true.  If Jesus is Lord, then I am not.  If Jesus is Lord, then I am merely a servant of the Lord.  Sure, there is still some autonomy, but, at his/her best, a follower of Christ is one who stops living for his/herself and lives for God.  In 1 Corinthians 6, Paul spells out some implications of belonging to Christ, of claiming Jesus as Lord.  One of those implications has to do with how we care for our bodies.

Now, I’m probably one of the last people who should be talking about the importance of caring for our bodies.  I’m overweight, out of shape and on the verge of developing some health problems if I don’t start eating better and exercising more.  However, I recognize that this is an area for growth in my personal life.  And it begins with recognizing that my body is not just a temporary shell, but it is a temple for the Holy Spirit.  How’s that for imagery?

When the Holy Spirit dwells within us, our body is no longer our own.  Paul says that we were bought with a high price.  What is that price?  The blood of Christ.  When we begin to understand our lives in this way, perhaps we can see taking care of ourselves as a form of stewardship.  Stewardship is about how we care for what we have been entrusted.  So, what are some ways that you can be a good steward of the temple of the Holy Spirit that is your body?

