Last Saturday, we had the 2nd Annual Swisher Ribfest at our house.  This year, it was more of a Meatfest, since we had three different type of BBQ (pulled pork, ribs, brisket) on the table.  Either way, it was a lot of fun, and I look forward to doing it again next year.

In preparation, I wanted to make a gold barbecue sauce, so I found a recipe that I wanted to try, especially since I already had all but one of the ingredients in the cabinet.  As I made the sauce, I realized something: just about everything in it was something that I would not eat on its own: brown sugar, hot sauce, apple cider vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, yellow mustard, honey and molasses.  Look at that list of ingredients.  It almost looks like a bunch of things that somebody just found laying around one day and decided to whisk it all together.  Pretty whisk-y if you as me…

Yet, the final product was delicious.  It is probably one of the best BBQ sauces that I have made.  I’d put it right up there with my white BBQ, it was that good.  Isn’t it funny how sometimes, the most unusual things can come together and make something amazing, something far better than any of them could be on their own.

