For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.        Psalm 139:13-14a

Have you ever stopped to think about how God designed you?  Each one of us, billions of people all over the world, have been designed and wired in a unique way by the God who created each of us.  It’s amazing how no two people are exactly alike – even identical twins have their differences in personality, temperament, gifts, passions, etc.

Certainly we recognize some characteristics or traits in one another, but that doesn’t mean we are exactly alike, just that we are similar.  At our core, we are all the same: flesh, blood, bones.  Well… we are mostly the same…

skeletons

Seriously though, the things that make us different and unique are not going to show up on a CT scan or MRI.  What I’m talking about here are different personality traits and behaviors that we all exhibit.  Have you ever taken the time to explore it for yourself?

A while back I decided that it was going to be important for me to gain a better understanding of who I am so that I can be a better pastor and leader.  If I know who I am, then I can better fill in the gaps of my ministry with those who are called and designed differently than myself.

In the process of this self-exploration, I can’t say that I’ve really discovered anything new about myself, but it certainly explains some things.

Here are the different tools/assessments that I’ve used so far: Myers-Briggs, StrengthsFinder, The Birkman Method, and a spiritual gifts inventory (actually several through the years, with my top 2-3 always constant).

All of these tools give useful information, but synthesizing and applying that information is the real task that awaits.

So, what about you?  Have you thought about the way that God has wired you?  Spend some time digging into it, and you may be surprised in what you find.  But, know this, no matter what, you are fearfully and wonderfully made by the God that created the whole universe.

